Jan. 15th ECS 410

I was beyond excited that we finally are given the chance to learn about assessment and evaluation instead of being just expected to know it when making lesson or unit plans. Even though we have gotten chances to come up with assessment and evaluation for classes, we were never given guidance on how to do it. We went in blind. So I am happy we finally get to learn about it, just in time for our pre-internship block, so that it is fresh in our minds.

Class first started with our professor, Tracy Houk, saying, “Good evening everyone!” And many people didn’t answer. She then discussed how she wants everyone to answer when she says it, and went on again to say, “Good evening everyone!” to which everyone replied. The point to this mini-lesson was that you have to give clear and concise instructions to get what you want. This can be connected with assessment and evaluation, having to communicate clearly about what you want from your students. It was a quick example, but, to me, it will have a lasting impression.

I am relieved that the work load is manageable in this class. Many of my other classes have a heavy work load, and I feel overwhelmed. I was worried about this class, being that it was my 5th and last class to start, and because I felt overwhelmed with the first 4 classes. However, the work load is perfect, and I am no longer worried, but more excited about the class assignments, and what I will learn in the class.

Talking about the positive and negative assessments we have faced in our high school experience was an eye-opener because many classmates had no problem coming up with bad experiences, and struggled to come up with positive experiences. This shows that we have to take the negative experiences, learn from them, and to never use them in our own classrooms. We have to start creating the positive assessment experiences in schools.

The main thing I learned in the first class was the difference between assessment for learning, assessment as learning, and assessment of learning. Assessment for learning is to improve student learning through formative assessment or giving assessment along the way. Assessment as learning is more about peer and self-assessment, formative feedback from peers and self. Assessment of learning is the test or evaluation. It is to show that the students have met the goals and outcomes, and it is usually the mark on the report card. I have never heard of these, but now that I do know them, they show the different kinds of assessments, and how they can be used in my own classroom.

Leave a comment